Back Francais Home
   

Children are often expected to testify in criminal court proceedings throughout Canada.  Many of these children are very young.  They are often victims of sexual or physical abuse or have witnessed acts of violence.  This web site is designed to help children understand how court works and about what their job is in court.  This site can also be used to teach any child who has an interest in learning about how the legal system works.

The web site is child-friendly and interactive.  Children will meet "Cory the Court Dog" who acts as a guide throughout the site.  The site is intended to provide educational information about the court process for children.

Here Are Some Helpful Suggestions For Parents And Support People To Follow When Visiting This Site With A Child

  1.    

As they travel through the site, children who are expected to testify may have questions or concerns about going to court and may need some support.  If you are unable to answer the questions your child has, you can contact someone in your community who works in the legal system.  There is information about who you can contact in the "Contact" section of this site.

   
  2.    

Do not discuss with the child the facts of the case or anything related to the evidence.  The site is not meant to be used to review or discuss the facts of the case.  The purpose is to provide general information on the court process and the role of the witness.  The crown attorney will meet with the child to review the evidence prior to court.

   
  3.    

Children who are expected to testify in court will need support.  It is very important that the child has a support system in place to help him or her cope with feelings or concerns about going to court.  The child's support system may include the parent(s), a treatment provider, court support personnel or other significant people in the child's life.

Tips For Parents For Court Day

Going to court can be stressful.  Here are some suggestions to make the day a little less difficult.

  1.    

Be prepared to spend the entire day(s) at courthouse.  Most subpoenas will advise you to be at court early in the morning but you may not even get into the courtroom until after lunch!

   
  2.    

Be early - some courthouses have security checks - you don't want to be stuck in the line up (possibly with the accused).  If the courthouse does have security checks, it will make things easier and quicker if you empty your pockets of all metal items (coins, etc.) beforehand.

   
  3.    

Dress comfortably - a trial is a formal proceeding but that does not mean you have to be all dressed up.  Your child should be neat but comfortable.  Remember, it could turn out to be a long day.

   
  4.    

Take along some snacks, drinks and things to do (books, cards, small games) in case there is a lot of waiting around.  You may want to have some change in case you need to use a pay phone

   
  5.    

Many smaller children take a comfort toy (teddy bear, small action figure) to hold while they are testifying.  Older kids (and adults) find it helpful to have a small object to hold in their hands to absorb the extra energy that comes with being nervous (stress ball, beads, etc).

   
  6.    

Talk to your child about whether or not, he or she would like you to be in the courtroom while he or she testifies.  (Note - if you are also a witness in the trial you probably will not be allowed in the court while your child is testifying) - not all children want their parent/caregiver in the room while they speak with the judge.

   
  7.    

If there are breaks (lunch, recess) that happen while your child is testifying, do not discuss the evidence during the breaks.  You may talk to him or her about how he or she is doing or feeling, but not what he or she is testifying about.  Reassuring your child that he or she is doing an important job can be helpful.

   
  8.    

If you are also a witness, consider taking a support person for yourself - someone who could sit in court while you're testifying.  If you are not a witness and will be in court while your child is testifying, remember that you are not allowed to communicate with your child in any way - no nodding, gestures, etc.

   
  9.    

Finally, when court is over you can let your child know that you understand that testifying in court is a very important that takes a lot of courage to do.




Learn About Court With Cory - Cory Goes To Court - Cory's Day In Court
Cory's Cool Tools For Testifying - Cory Answers Kids Questions - Cory's Court Dictionary
Tips for Grown Ups - Cory's Toy Box - Survey - Links - Tell A Friend - Contact Us - Credits

Page précédente English Page D'Accueil
   

Il arrive souvent que des enfants aient à témoigner au cours de procès criminels au Canada.  Beaucoup de ces enfants sont très jeunes.  Ils sont souvent des victimes d'abus sexuels ou physiques ou ont été témoins d'actes de violence.  Ce site est créé pour aider les enfants à comprendre le fonctionnement des tribunaux et quel est leur rôle au tribunal.  Ce site peut également être utilisé pour enseigner aux enfants qui voudraient en savoir plus sur le système judiciaire.

Ce site est convivial pour les enfants et est interactif.  Les enfants feront la connaissance de « Cory, le chien du tribunal » qui fait le guide à travers tout le site.  Ce site a pour but de fournir de l'information éducative sur le système judiciaire pour les enfants.

Voici des suggestions utiles que les parents et les personnes de soutien peuvent utiliser pendant leur visite de ce site

  1.    

Au cours de leur visite de ce site, les enfants qui ont à témoigner, auront possiblement des questions ou des craintes concernant le fait qu'ils aient à aller au tribunal et auront besoin de soutien.  Si vous n'êtes pas capable de répondre aux questions de votre enfant, vous pouvez entrer en contact avec quelqu'un qui connaît le système de droit dans votre région.  Il y a de l'information concernant les personnes que vous pouvez contacter dans la section « contact » de ce site.

   
  2.    

Ne parlez pas des faits du dossier ou de quoi que ce soit relié aux preuves avec l'enfant.  Ce site n'est pas fait pour être utilisé pour examiner ou discuter des faits du dossier.  Le but est de fournir de l'information générale sur le système judiciaire et le rôle de témoin.  Le procureur rencontrera l'enfant pour examiner les preuves avant le procès.

   
  3.    

Les enfants à qui il est demandé de témoigner, auront besoin de soutien.  Il est très important que l'enfant ait un système de soutien pour l'aider à faire face aux sentiments et aux inquiétudes résultant du fait d'aller témoigner.  Le système de soutien de l'enfant peut inclure le(s) parent(s), un fournisseur de traitement, un employé de soutien du tribunal ou toute autre personne importante dans la vie de l'enfant.

Conseils pour les parents pour le jour du témoignage

Aller témoigner peut être stressant.  Voici quelques suggestions pour rendre cette journée moins difficile.

  1.    

Soyez prêt à passer toute la journée au palais de justice.  La plupart des citations à comparaître vous conseilleront d'arriver tôt mais il est possible que vous alliez dans la salle d'audience seulement dans l'après midi.

   
  2.    

Arrivez en avance.  Certains palais de justice ont des contrôles de sécurité.  Vous ne voulez pas vous retrouver coincer dans la file d'attente (possiblement avec l'accusé).  Si le palais de justice a des contrôles de sécurité, le fait d'enlever à l'avance tout objet métallique (pièces, etc.) de vos poches, rendra les choses plus faciles.

   
  3.    

Habillez-vous confortablement.  Un procès est un évènement solennel mais cela ne veut pas dire que vous deviez vous être « sur votre trente et un ».  Votre enfant doit être correctement habillé mais également confortable.  Rappelez-vous que la journée peut être longue.

   
  4.    

Amenez des collations, boissons et des choses à faire (livres, cartes, jeux de petite taille) au cas où vous auriez à attendre longtemps.  Il peut être utile d'avoir de la monnaie au cas où vous voudriez utiliser un téléphone public.

   
  5.    

Beaucoup de jeunes enfants emportent un jouet de réconfort (peluche, petite figurine) qu'ils gardent avec eux pendant leur témoignage.  Les enfants plus âgés (et les adultes) trouvent utile d'avoir un petit objet dans leur main pour absorber l'énergie supplémentaire qui résulte de la nervosité (boule anti-stress, perles, etc.)

   
  6.    

Demandez à votre enfant s'il aimerait que vous soyez dans la salle d'audience pendant qu'il témoigne.  (N.B.: Si vous êtes également un témoin au procès, vous ne serez certainement pas autorisé à être présent dans la salle pendant le témoignage de votre enfant.) Pas tous les enfants ne veulent que leur parent ou la personne qui s'occupe d'eux soit présent dans la salle pendant qu'il parle au juge.

   
  7.    

S'il y a des pauses (déjeuner, suspension d'audience) pendant que votre enfant témoigne, ne parler pas de son témoignage pendant la pause.  Vous pouvez parler de ses sentiments et impressions, mais pas du contenu du témoignage.  Il peut être utile de rassurer votre enfant en lui disant qu'il est en train de faire quelque chose d'important.

   
  8.    

Si vous êtes également un témoin, envisagez d'avoir votre propre personne de soutien (quelqu'un qui peut être dans la salle pendant votre témoignage).  Si vous n'êtes pas un témoin et serez présent dans la salle pendant que votre enfant témoignera, souvenez-vous que vous n'êtes pas autorisé à communiquer avec votre enfant de quelque manière que ce soit (pas de signes de tête ou autre signe, etc.)

   
  9.    

Finalement, après le procès, vous pouvez dire à votre enfant que vous comprenez que témoigner au tribunal est très important et que cela demande beaucoup de courage.




Etudie le tribunal avec Cory - Cory va au tribunal - Le jour au tribunal de Cory
Les supers outils pour témoigner - Cory répond aux questions des enfants - Le dictionnaire du tribunal de Cory
Conseils pour adultes - La boite à jouets de Cory - Sondage - Liens - Informe un ami - Prends contact avec nous - Mérites